Our Philosophy

We believe the journey to becoming a new driver comes with great risk and responsibility. New drivers get one opportunity to learn the knowledge, skills, and techniques required to properly operate a motor vehicle legally and safely. Our licensed instructors at Circle City Driving Academy guarantee our students will receive the most up-to-date techniques, information, and safe-driving standards. Let the professionals at Circle City Driving Academy ease the concerns you may have about becoming a responsible and safe driver.

In-Car Cancellation

Due to the state-wide shortage of licensed driving instructors, once a student schedules his/her actual in-car lessons, the lessons are confirmed. We want to ensure we are being fair to all students who are waiting to schedule drives with instructors. As a result, we require all cancellations and proposed changes to be made within 24 hours. If we do not receive your request within 24 hours, there will be a $40.00 fee assessed to your bill (this policy is non-negotiable). In addition, students who fail to bring their driver’s permit to driving lessons will be charged a “cancellation” fee.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why should I take driver’s education?

Think about it…most parents do not have the time nor the patience to teach their teen how to drive. When scholars enroll in driver’s education with Circle City Driving Academy, we ensure they learn how to drive legally and safely. Teen scholars who complete our driver’s education program earn the privilege to get their license as early as 16 years and three months (if they have had their permit for at least six months). Most insurance companies provide discounts for completing a driver’s education program.

Teens who do not enroll in a driver’s education program cannot receive their license until they have reached the age of 16 years and nine months.

I am an adult…what are the benefits of taking driver’s education?

Driving lessons can benefit motorists of any age. No matter how old you are, the prospect of learning how to drive can be intimidating and stressful. Each year we service several adult drivers to prepare them for the BMV road test. The primary advantage of completing driver’s education with Circle City Driving Academy is our students are qualified to take the state driving test at our academy.

Do I need a permit to start classes?

No. This is one of our most asked and misunderstood questions. If you are at least 15 years old, you can enroll in our driving academy. Scholars can complete the entire online classroom portion without a permit but cannot start in-vehicle education until an Indiana driver’s permit is obtained.

Will I receive a Certificate of Enrollment when I sign up for the on-line course?

Indiana law states that students must be enrolled in a behind-the-wheel course to be issued a certificate of enrollment, so we would not be able to issue this form for an online-only enrollment.

When is the best time to get my permit?

Scholars are encouraged to obtain their learner’s permit as soon as possible (ASAP!).
Getting the permit early gives our scholars more practice time on the road and helps to build confidence. Remember, you cannot get your driver’s license unless your permit is at least six months old. A delay in getting your permit is a delay in getting your driver’s license as well!

How long will it take to complete the online portion of driver’s education?

Our online course is self-paced. Scholars are required to engage in a total of 30 hours of online education. However, there is a maximum of three hours of online education per day. All online learners have a maximum of 90 days to complete their online education, starting from the date they register.

How is in-vehicle instruction completed?

Our in-vehicle driving lessons are scheduled independently of the 30-hour classroom curriculum. Once the 30-hour classroom curriculum is completed, we schedule six one-hour drives (one-on-one) with one of our licensed driving instructors. Generally, our goal is to not exceed more than two drives per week. It is important for the scholar to invest time and practice new skills, with an appropriate parent/guardian or a licensed driver, prior to the next scheduled drive. While we cannot guarantee a particular day or time, we strive to develop a driving schedule that meets the needs of all our scholars.

What is the 50 Hour Driving Log?

Students will log 50 hours of driving in a variety of situations on the BMV form. This form will need to be submitted to the BMV upon application when obtaining the driver’s license. The accumulation of the 50 hours can include driving time accumulated during Circle City Driving Academy instructional time, along with practice hours with a parent/guardian or licensed driver who is at least 25 years of age.

50-Hour Driving Log

I’m over 18 years old, do I need to hold my permit for six months?

Yes. It does not matter if you are 16, 18, 21 or 50 years old, you have to hold your permit for 6 months in the state of Indiana. No exceptions. The reason why? If you are new to driving, you need practice to pass your driving test.